Ipsy October 2013 Review

19 Oct

I love my Ipsy!  It’s such a bang for your buck, and although I usually want makeup products, I’m not too upset with this haul.

This month’s theme was “the art of beauty” which included

1

La Fresh®

Eco-Beauty® Oil-Free Face Cleanser Wipes

The La Fresh® Eco-Beauty® Oil-Free Face Cleanser Wipes gently cleanses and detoxifies skin. Contains pineapple, vitamin E, cucumber, marshmallow, oat, aloe and chamomile extracts. These wipes are biodegradable, compostable and are packaged using clean, renewal solar energy. Paraben-free. $3

I guess they want you to start with the cleanest slate! I will definitely be taking on my trip.. when I come stumbling home drunk the last thing I am going to want to do is wipe my face so these will definitely come in handy (better than nothing- don’t judge.)

The bag was cute.  I don’t really get the quote but their is something about words on bags that I adore.  When the spoiler showed the bag would be pink, I had thought it would be some kind of cancer awareness theme- wouldn’t that of been nice? I’m actually doing “Walks for strides” on Sunday so let me know if you are interested in making a donation to my team:)

2

be Delectable

Hand Cream

Indulge your hands with a well-deserved treat. This ultra nourishing hand cream is enriched with shea butter, coconut oil, and aloe vera to smooth, nourish and rejuvenate hands and cuticles. Rich, and never greasy, this beautiful blend is kissed with a delectable scent. Available in four delectable scents, coconut & cream, strawberry & cream, vanilla & cream and lemon & cream. $3.50

I’m a sucker for the marketing on this one.  What a cute name! And a picture of a cupcake? How can I not be in love.  Ipsy was sending out all 4 scents and I was hoping for strawberry- but this was actually pretty awesome. Sometimes I need to venture out of my comfort zone.

1

Sexy Hair

Blow Dry Gel

The Sexy Hair Blow Gel is an alcohol-free gel that thickens hair while adding volume. It also helps retain moisture so your hair never feels dry. Delivers a light to medium hold. $3

I wouldn’t say my hair needs help in the volume department but my boyfriend does love the wet scrunched look so this get could come in handy. Also I like that it’s not an extreme hold and the idea of it retaining moisture.  The best part- it’s HUGE for a sample, not like the travel ones drugstores sell, so this will also come in use during my trip!  I’m curious to see how it works, I’ve haven’t had good experiences with this brand, and I hope it’s not too sticky. I will,, however, tell Ipsy I hate it so they don’t send me any more hair products!

1

Zoya

Part of the Fall 2013 CASHMERES & SATINS Collection, these shades are created to work together with this season’s most stylish runway designs and luxurious fabric blends. These ultra long-wearing, glossy nail lacquers by Zoya are BIG5FREE – free of toluene, camphor, formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin and dibutyl phthalate (DBP). $8

ipsy subscribers will receive Neve (purple), Giovanna(above) or Mason(pink)

It’s pretty but as you know I am not a shimmer kinda girl, metallics included. I hear the formula is great though.

1

Tingle, plump & shine your pout to super-sexy proportions with sheer, shimmering Full-On™ Lip Polish in Dolly. This bestselling dusty mauve gloss creates the look of fuller, more voluptuous lips while Vitamins A & E help keep them soft, smooth and protected. $19

I wish I would of known how much this is worth before I opened it- I totally would of tried to sell it LOL!  But that’s ok, the color is pretty natural but it’s got a great shimmer to it- one that I’m even OK with!  It’s a little sticky for me, I’m just use to lip sticks not glosses, but I’ll live.  I have naturally plump lips but I do think this product makes them appear fuller.  It also tingles like CRAZY which is not a bad thing!

Do you wanna get gorgeous on-the-go? Enter Buxom’s On-the-Go Gorgeousness Sweepstakes for a chance to win a Buxom Passport Collection: The Day Tripper Edition Kit! When a getaway of good times is in store, beautiful lips and beautiful eyes are easy. Be one of the 50 lucky winners. Click here to enter: http://shout.lt/lV0Z.

 

Another great month Ipsy!  It drives me crazy when people complain.  They use DHL which obviously sucks, and they send out the bags in shipments and between the two have some impatient customers. You’ll get it when you get it people!  People also attack the products and customization, no surprise there, but come on- the bag is $10 a month and I got $37 worth of products plus a TON of lovely coupons 🙂 !!

I understand people can be picky, but my interest behind subscription bags is the chance to experiment and try things I normally wouldn’t on my own.  People need to get off their high horse and hire a personal shopper if they want high-end treatment.. Just saying!

 

What did you get in this month’s Ipsy?

 

This post may contain referral links.

Leave a Reply

