Glossy Box November 2013 “Modern Romance”

23 Nov

1

GlossyBox is a monthly bespoke box of 5-6 luxury-sized cosmetic and wellness samples hand-picked by their beauty experts and mailed directly to your door.  The month to month box is $21 but you can save as much as $2.67 a box by making a longer commitment.

1

As always, the packaging is adorable.  I can never bear to throw away the box and ribbons which is going to come in handy when Christmas wrapping. But I’m on the fence bout Glossy in general.  I love that I get skin products as well as makeup, but this is my second box (3rd if you count a limited edition) and I haven’t found anything I LOVED yet.  I do ENJOY everything but my guilt is eating me alive.  I have to start narrowing down my monthly list to what proves most useful.

Anyway, my pictures came out pretty crappy- hope you can forgive me.  This month is “Modern Romance”

Image

Nicka K Professional Eyeshadow brush Full Size $5

I guess I really can’t complain about getting brushes.  They are necessity.  I did make my mom a bag of makeup or Christmas, using one of the Ipsy bags and filling it with one product each of every makeup product one would need.  It’s time to start adding brushes.

Image

Emite Micronized Eye Shadow (Damson Black) Full Size $27

Personally, I have no idea how to apply black shadow.  But I know there is a way and this is a great opportunity to figure that way out.

Image

Vincent Longo Duo Eye Pencil in Lime Forest Full Size $26

At first glance I thought the “Forest” was a gray.  It’s not.  It’s a dark green.  I’m ridiculous.  The other side- lime- scared me a bit.  But after I thought about it I realized that these complimentary colors, along with my Starlooks Gem Eye Pencil in Amethyst I got from Ipsy, could create an awesome holiday look.  This is why I subscribed to these services- to try new things.  Would I be happier with a generic black?!

Image

Mastey Color Protecting Leave- In Oil Treatment Sample Size $6.63

Now I haven’t colored my hair since my 21st birthday, so I like to think after 3 and a half years it’s all natural again.  But this does mention it could be used for damaged hair as well and my dry frizzy strands could always use some conditioning.

Image

The Aloe Source JoJoba Radiance Cleaning Polish Sample Size $4.48

I would normally be annoyed by a 1 oz face wash but since I was traveling for 2 weeks I am in need of updating my travel products.  I have a feeling I’m gonna fall in love with this product- it seems clean, fresh, rejuvenating, and softing.  On the marketing side at least… but we’ll see how it is in action..

Some say they can’t see where they get the theme from, but I can. A smokey eye, shiny hair, I get it… they just needed to add a red lip!

The value of this box is about $69 which is awesome since I only paid about $22.  This tempts me to keep my subscription, but sadly if I do happen to fall in love with any products I probably won’t be able to afford purchasing them at regular price.  What do you think of this month’s Glossy Box?

Leave a Reply

